Google has recently announced the release of a new social button called “+1” (plus one). Similarly to Facebook like button, the new +1 button will allow users to bookmark and share the cool websites, pages, advertisements and search results that they find on the web.
The +1 button will start appearing next to the search results on Google.com and later it will become available to the other versions of Google. Note that in order to see the +1 button, you must have an updated Google profile, you must be logged in and you have to opt-in to the launch by visiting the Google’s experimental search site.
What is the +1 Button and how it works?
As we said above the +1 button will allow users recommend and share content with their friends and it will be visible next to the search results. Along with them the logged in users will be able to see if the people that belong to their Social Circle have +1’d any of the pages that appear in SERPs. Currently the Social Circle is calculated based on the data that come from Gmail, Google Talk, Google Contacts, Google Reader and Google Buzz. Nevertheless Google says that on the near future they will incorporate information from other 3rd party networks such as Twitter, Flickr etc.
Written by Vasilis Vryniotis. To read the full article, click here. For more information on creating your own online brand, website and social media strategy, please visit our website at www.mydigibrand.com and follow us everywhere @mydigitalbrand.